I am pleased to introduce the CFDR Summer Interns.  These guys and gal will be around for the summer helping out with the classes and private sessions, and soaking up all the knowledge they can from the CFDR coaches.  Shannon and Chris have their CrossFit Level 1 certifications, and Andy and Quinn will get their certifications later this summer.  Let’s get to know these coaches-in-training a little better:

Quinn.

Quinn.

I’m Quinn O’Connell and I’m from Potomac, MD. I graduated from Georgetown Prep in 2011. I’m currently a junior psychology major at the University of Notre Dame.

Growing up I played ice hockey, basketball, and golf. I continued to play golf during high school and found a passion for fitness and nutrition when I began working out/lifting to stay in shape. After spending a few days watching every online CrossFit video I could find, I jumped right into CrossFit just over one year ago. I love learning more about CrossFit, human movement, and general fitness and sharing what I learn with others. I believe that CrossFit is for everyone and that its benefits go far beyond physical thanks to the unique CrossFit community.

Favorite WOD: Helen

Least Favorite WOD: Anything with thrusters

Fun Facts: After considering art school and then choosing culinary school, I changed my mind at the last minute and decided to go with the more traditional college route.  My hobbies include surfing, basketball, golf, art, cooking, and a little David Blaine style magic.

Andy.

Andy.

Educational Background:  College of Wooster Class of 2013 (Political Science Major)

Athletic Background: College and High School Lacrosse, High School Football

CrossFit Experience: 2 years of Crossfit

Coaching Experience:  I have coached a Summer swim team and Summer lacrosse teams

Favorite WOD: I love Fran

Least Favorite WOD: I hate Fran

Fun Fact: I have broken glass objects in seven different countries

Chris

Chris

Educational Background: Attending the University of Montana and majoring in social work.

Athletic Background: Played competitive soccer for 11 years.  Played recreational and competitive ice hockey for 8 years.  Enjoy playing any and every sport for fun.

CrossFit Experience: Introduced to CrossFit about a year and a half ago, been seriously CrossFitting for 7 months now.

Coaching Experience: New to coaching having recently gotten my CrossFit Level One Certification.

Favorite WOD: 2k row or 5k row

Least Favorite WOD: Fran

Fun Fact:  I went to a therapeutic boarding school for my junior and senior year of high school.

 

Shannon

Shannon

Educational background: Going to be a junior at the University of Denver in Denver, CO

Athletic background: High school ran Cross Country, CrossFit & some running since then

CrossFit experience: My Dad had me do the intro classes my senior year of high school. I texted him on my way home from the first session telling him that I was in love. That initial love has only grown & I now belong to two boxes – D-Town CrossFit when I’m away at school & CrossFit DoneRight (of course) when I’m home.

Coaching background: Just helping out with the CrossFit Kids & CrossFit Varsity program at CFDR.

Favorite WOD: Any WOD I beat my Dad at.

Least Favorite WOD: KAREN

A Fun Fact: I’m a certified scuba diver!

Workout of the Day
“Jackie”
For time:
1000 meter row
50 Thrusters (45 lbs)
30 Pull-ups